Winner Of The 2023 CMBA Best Classic Movie Blog Event

I am absolutely thrilled to announce that I have received the 2023 CMBA Award For Best Classic Movie Blog Event. It is the first ever such award from peers in the classic movie community and I am very humbled to receive it.

The Award was for the Classic Film On Literature Blogathon which has run for four years now and will certainly run again next year. I cannot thank enough those wonderful people who have taken part it in over the last three years and I hope that you will continue to do so – as well as see more join in as well.

The CMBA (Classic Movie Bloggers Association), of which I am very proud to be a member, does so much to support film bloggers and keep alive the presence of classic film. Their support for classic film and those who love it, is very special and I would like to thank them for their efforts in supporting those who love and write about classic film. It’s really great to be part of a worldwide community of classic film fans and connect with people from all over the world – especially since I come from Australia which sometimes feels far away from everything!

It does inspire to keep writing, reading and working on writing about classic film and I cannot thank the CMBA enough for that as well.

Here’s to classic film!

Paul Batters teaches secondary school History in the Illawarra region and also lectures at the University Of Wollongong. In a previous life, he was involved in community radio and independent publications. Looking to a career in writing, Paul also has a passion for film history.

19 thoughts on “Winner Of The 2023 CMBA Best Classic Movie Blog Event

  1. Congratulations, Paul! I’m so happy for you and so proud of you. I know how hard you’ve worked on your articles over the years. This was such a fun Blogathon and I’m glad you’re bringing it back next year. Hope all good with you. Maddy

    I recently went to the CMBA site to get in touch to reapply for membership because I’d love to come back. However I can’t access it or even view it because a warning is coming up saying it’s a dangerous website known for phishing. No idea what’s going on there.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much Maddy. You’re so very sweet and kind and your support has always meant a lot. I’m excited to get some recognition. As you know this can be a lonely passion! I’ll be back with this blogathon again next year.

      That’s really strange that there’s a warning coming up! It doesn’t sound right at all. It might be worth emailing direct and letting them know as well. Do you have the Board’s emails?

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Heya Maddy! Sorry for jumping in but I was so happy to see that you wish to rejoin the CMBA. Couldn’t you simply being “reinstated”? I shall send an email to the Board to let them know about your interest. I’ll DM you their e-mail via Twitter (where I have been extensively absent as of late).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done, Paul!! You are so deserving of such an honour. ❤️ I admire your continued dedication to classic film. It definitely is not easy being so far away from others who share our passion, not to mention the added complication of time zones differences. Perhaps they should bring the TCM Film Festival to those of us overseas, one person at a time. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations Paul! As a participant in the blog I’ve had a great time, and it always features great posts on a wide range of intriguing adaptations.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow! Thank you so much. You’re so very kind to nominate me. I’ve neglected writing for so long and feeling dejected to be honest – your nomination is so very thoughtful. I will get onto the questions over the next couple of days. Again, thank you so much!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment